Heather’s Ramblings

Adventures in Cheese Making – Part 1 Mozzerella

Posted on: September 22, 2007

Ok, so in my last entry I mentioned reading the book “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.” by Barbara Kingsolver. One thing mentioned in the book is cheese making. As I have recently fallen in love with my kitchen again I decided I wanted to try this so I bought the kits Barbara mentioned from the Cheese Queen.  I got the Mozzerella and Hard Cheese kits.

Barbara mentions that the Mozzerella is the easiest to make so that is the one I tried first.  It was very interesting.

I added the milk and citric acid and heated the milk.  I then added the rennet and waited for the curd to form.  All that seems easy right?  Not quite.  At some point I made an oops, I don’t know if my accidentally heating the milk a bit to high or if it was my having to guess at the amount of rennet I was adding (the tablet pulverised when I was trying to break it), but either way the curd didn’t form properly.  After the setting time had passed I was left with a mess that looked like cottage cheese and whey instead of a nice solid mass of curd.

At this point I was hoping that I hadn’t totally ruined it and got out the butter cloth that came with the kit to try to drain the curd as best I could.  I scooped up the runny curds and poured them into the cloth, bunched up the cloth and started squeezing.  A few times I lost part of the folded cloth and had curds and whey gush out the top.  Eventually though, I wrestled the cheese into submission.  After I squeezed out as much whey as I could I was left with a sticky mess.  I scrapped as much of it off the cloth as I could and into a glass bowl.  I followed the directions for microwaving and salting the cheese, kneeding and stretching after each round in the microwave.

My mess soon began to resemble cheese and after a few more kneedings I was able to form and braid it into a mozzerella.

Heather's Mozzerella

Not to bad for a first try eh?  It tastes like mozzerella but needed more salt, I took it easy on the salt not knowing how the rennet and acid would effect the taste.  Next time I will know how much salt to add to the cheese 🙂

I am trying the cheddar tonight and will be sure to let everyone know how it all works out.

4 Responses to "Adventures in Cheese Making – Part 1 Mozzerella"

hey, great job, did you eat it yet? how did it taste?

Heather: We did eat it, it needs more salt but it was tasty anyway 🙂

That looks great Heather! Some nice fresh tomatoes and basil and I see a killer caprese salad!

did you know how cheese was invented? It wasnt necessity, it was an accident,
‘http://www.swissworld.org/en/switzerland/swiss_specials/swiss_cheese/history_of_cheesemaking/’>read
this

did you know how cheese was invented? It wasnt necessity, it was an accident, read this

Leave a Reply

Pages

