Heather’s Ramblings

Midnight Ramblings

Posted on: November 20, 2007

Insomnia sucks.  Not only can I not sleep but I also cannot really do anything when I give up and get out of bed.  I get up because my hubby has to get up early and I don’t want to disturb him, but now that I am out of bed there is very little I can do that is quiet enough not to disturb him.  Our walls are thin so even though I’m in the living room and he’s in the bedroom I have to watch what I do or he’ll wake up and tell me to come to bed.

I’d have a cup of tea but  my water dispenser has turned the heater off for the night and I can’t turn on the microwave because it is loud.  I can’t watch tv because it is also to loud.  I can’t clean for Thanksgiving because then I’ll wake myself up even more.  About the only thing I can do is play around on the computer, and that is why I am here 🙂

My ode to Insomnia

Insomnia my enemy,

Insomnia my friend.

You never get the best of me,

But you’ll try to the end.

The gift of extra wakeful hours,

You think will ruin my life.

Sometimes they are as useful,

As the sharp edge of a knife.

Extra hours of wakefulness,

Cut thru the fog in my creative life.

During the day my vision is muddled,

At night it becomes so clear.

My body’s need for sleep,

Causes my mind to lose its fear.

And inspiration that would never come,

Now comes in untold droves.

For exhaustion is a treasure map,

To my minds creative coves.

Leave a Reply

Pages

