Heather’s Ramblings

Bitten by the cleaning bug.

Posted on: January 30, 2008

About a week and a half ago I went to visit a friend in Michigan to help her work on her studio.  We had a blast and got tons more done that we had thought we would.  She had the room drywalled and primed so we painted our fannies off, cleaned, and reorganized a ton.  This gave me the bug to spruce up the basement where I work.

Here are pictures of what my basement looked like before.  The first three pictures are of my box room where we store stuff we aren’t using at the time.

These next images are of the rest of the basement. (Ignore the propane tank, that’s only there when I work, and had taken the pics just before sitting down at the torch.)

Ok, so now you can see what I have to work with. UGH!  A huge task.

Well my husband and I hustled our butts this weekend and made what I thought was good progress.  Thursday I took the huge pile of crap (in front of the paint cans) to St. Vincent.  Then on Saturday Brian and I went thru the box room.  We ended up breaking down a reptile rack I had and between that and other stuff we went thru ended up with 7 boxes and 3 bags of trash, plus we filled our normal trash can.  We ended up breaking down enough cardboard boxes to fill 9 bags for recycling.  We also ended up starting another box of stuff to be donated.

After getting all the junk out of the box room we ended up being able to move our patio furniture and christmas decorations into the room because we made so much room.   Here are the after pictures.

Huge difference eh?

Now that we got that section done it will be much easier to work on other areas of the basement because the Christmas stuff and patio furniture are no longer in the way.  After I go thru everything and toss/donate what we no longer want or need I am going to drylock the basement and use some of that vast collection of paint to cheer up the dark gray concrete walls.

Be sure to check back for future progress reports. 🙂

2 Responses to "Bitten by the cleaning bug."

Hey Heather,

I’m thinking I might want to try some silver pmc in the future. Kinda playing around and your silver leaves are very intriguing…(I’m a forester by training).

Are there directions anywhere on how to do that? I would love to read them over and see what comes of it… I have access to a kiln….and would love to just play if I ever get caught up. Oh, and I have cleaning bug envy. It hasn’t bit me yet but it sure needs to gnaw the heck out of me and motivate me to get things organized!!! kt

Heather says – Do a google search on either Art Clay Silver or PMC and you will come up with a bunch of sites and various tutorials. I don’t have any bookmarks unfortunatly. I have a couple books and the rest I make up by myself.

Heather! Great job…I’m still waiting for that “bug” to bite here again…

Leave a Reply

Pages

