Heather’s Ramblings

Basement project part 2 – Progress is being made

Posted on: February 4, 2008

I continued my basement cleanup this weekend by starting work on the section of our basement by the water meter.  To remind you of what it looked like before, here are the pictures.

My husband and I started my moving EVERYTHING.  Then I swept while he vacuumed up what I was sweeping.   Then while he mixed up the drylock I wiped the dust off of the walls.  I had hoped that I would be able to get everything moved, cleaned, and drylocked on Saturday but I severly underestimated how long moving and cleaning would take.  I ended up only getting the wall in the second picture drylocked.  Sunday I managed to get the rest of the area drylocked.

Here are the pictures of the drylocked walls. The piece of plumbing in my picture is the water meter.


The whole area looks so much brighter and cleaner now.  For those of you who haven’t had the misfortune to use drylock let me tell you a bit about it.  Drylock is a masonry water proofer.  It is about the consistency of plaster of paris mixed with sand and has the delightful aroma of latex paint mixed with rubber cement.  It is very heavy and has to be worked into all of the nooks and crannies in the wall.  To make things more difficult, my walls are not the typical flat, mostly smooth poured concrete.  My builder decided to be fancy so poured our concrete walls into molds that made it look like the wall was made out of brick which added lots of low spots to work the drylock into.

My next step is to choose a paint color and paint this section.  My husband and I decided that instead of full coverage on the walls I am going to use a short napped roller so that only the high spots get color on them and some of the white shows thru.  If we don’t like it I can always ad another coat for full coverage.  However, doing everything I did yesterday was to much and my right hand is very sore and swollen and I can’t straighten it out fully so today I am taking the day off.  Tomorrow while running errands I will get some paint chips so that Wednesday I can get the paint and work on that.  I am hoping that by this next weekend I can go thru everything that goes in the area and finish this section of my basement.

Wish me Luck!

Leave a Reply

Pages

