Heather’s Ramblings

What do I want to be when I grow up?

Posted on: February 5, 2008

As many of you know I was fired at the end of October.  I haven’t had any luck looking for an administrative or office position so I am contemplating a total change in career path.    Last Wednesday just for giggles I looked into going to cosmetology or dog grooming school.

There is a dog grooming school about half an hour away from me but they never responded to my requests for information so they are out.  Then I looked at a mobile dog grooming place that would train me but he’s not looking to hire for a month, doesn’t like the fact that I am so far away (I told him the drive didn’t bother me, I’d been making a longer drive for 4yrs), and would rather hire someone with experience (which I completely understand).  He did say he may call me in a month if he doesn’t find anyone before then.  Needless to say I am not holding onto any hope for that one.  LOL  I also tried the Petco website to apply for a position at their Delafield store where they also train.  They only have a computer application system and halfway thru the application it stopped working on me.  I called the number for tech support they have on their site but the tech people told me to contact the store via the contact us link.  I did that and they told me to call the tech number so obviously they didn’t bother to read the section of my email where I said the tech people told me to contact them.  Ah well, I guess I really don’t want to work for a company where their customer relations people can’t be bothered to read inquiries.

Then we get to the ‘people grooming’ schools. 🙂  I emailed the Martin College of Cosmetology in Madison and about 10min later got a call.  I ended up going to see them last Friday and I really think I am interested.  Then Saturday I received an email from the Vici Aveda Institute in Milwaukee that I had emailed.  I tried to call to set up an appointment to tour and so far the woman there and I have been playing phone tag.

I am most interested in the esthetician (skin care, waxing, facials, etc) program but am thinking about taking the nail technician program as well just because that would make me more valuable on the job market.  Money is a concern because the skin care program is about $7000 and since I am out of a job that is a hard sum to come up with.  The program is also full time days for 5 months so it would be hard to work part time to afford it too.  Especially if I added the part time nail program at nights.  Doing both programs would also make it very hard for me to work on my beads and Jewelry.

Needless to say, this is a hard decision to make.  My husband told me that if this is what I wanted then he would find the money which is very sweet of him but I would rather not put the burden all on him.  I guess this means I should get my fanny to work on my torch so I can make some things to sell 🙂

Anyway, I’m just rambling here to try to put my thoughts into print so I can try to figure out if this is what I really want.  Not only is it a lot of money but its a huge time commitment if I find out I don’t like it.  On the other hand I really like dealing with people and have an artistic flare so I could be very good at this.

I don’t really expect anyone to have any answers for me but if you want to give me an opinion I’d be happy to listen.  Also, if you feel like buying some jewelry to help me pay my way I would be more than happy to sell some to you, just go here. 🙂  hehehe  Thought I would throw that in there, after all if I’m not going to pimp my stuff who will?

2 Responses to "What do I want to be when I grow up?"

[…] the whole thing over here This entry was posted on Tuesday, February 5th, 2008 at 7:49 pm and is filed under […]

Hi!

I have just introduced myself to blogging. While mindlessly trying to figure it out at first I ran across a wonderful person who sounds like me.

My name is Anita and I have been a licensed nail tech for 16yrs. Also, went back to school in Jan 07 for Esthetician. I love every aspect of it. Client’s are always behind ya all the way.

My Dad and Sister both lost their jobs this summer. It can be tough right now so, my moto is while im waiting on figuring it out, I mize well educate myself in someway. So, I can feel your determination in finding something great!

Change is all around us. I would recommend cosmetology. Here are some things to think about especially in these economic times.

Don’t limit yourself on a specific Nails, Esthetics Etc… be good at all of it! People will always get their hair done especially women who hate gray like I do. lol. So, even in hard financial times this is important aspect.
Nails I find is a mostly come and go business. I have regulars don’t get me wrong.But, as soon as people buy a house, have kids, send kids to college then this is the first to get cut on the home budget. Some nail techs may disagree with me but, I have experiences that back me up! Nails limits you to Manicures,Pedicures,Nail Enhancements, Nail Art and what ever is new today’s beauty industry is moving so fast it’s hard to keep up. Which I trive on cause I love to create new things. Always attend tradeshows for great inspiration and knowledge! I have competed in Pink and White Acrylics around the nation and have won 3 third place trophies. Last but not least Esthetics…I love this license so much, I think because it is so new to me. After beauty school it’s just the start of all the information available to you. Waxing, Facial Peels, Make-up, Facials, Body Wraps, and in my state includes Massage. So, I have everything but that last License Hair. My mom is a stylist but, never did to much with it. I do a lot of waxing. It’s kinda like the Hair end of this. Non pun intended. In the fact women don’t like unruly eyebrows or those mustaches that grow in when we start getting into our 40’s. The baby boomers take care of themselves well, wanting help in reversing the signs of aging.

I love the freedom of my job. I own a little place called Faces Etc…in Indiana just got my website up and going which let me tell ya was a chore and a half not knowing the first thing about that sort of thing. But, in my down time with business dropping off I educated myself and very proud to have it up and going. check it out if ya want too. myfacestec.com we would love for you to visit.

I also make jewelry, phone charms are my best seller here at my shop. I try not to make 2 things the same. Every piece is unique.

Well, Good luck on your choice of Careers and I hope we can connect again. Anita

Leave a Reply

Pages

