Heather’s Ramblings

My potatoes, spring can’t come soon enough.

Posted on: March 24, 2008

Last fall I decided that instead of just going to the farmers markets I was going to work on growing my own vegetables.  I started collecting seeds, set aside some potatoes to sprout, and bought and planted three different types of garlic.

A few weeks ago I was cleaning out the closet where I had set the potatoes in a paper bag to sprout.  I noticed the bag was wet so I pulled out the potatoes.  One had started to rot which was where the moisture came from.  I tossed the rotting one and decided to plant the rest before they started to rot too.  Here are the sprouting potatoes.

I put them in a plastic bin and set them in a window.  I wasn’t sure what would happen because I read that store bought potatoes didn’t tend to grow very well.  The potatoes were planted on March 8th.  On March 16th I checked the potatoes and found they had started growing already.

Then today I checked again.  If store bought potatoes don’t grow very well then I don’t think I want to see potatoes that do grow well.

Spring can’t come soon enough, I can’t wait until I can get these things in my garden.   I just hope I can keep them alive long enough for them to make it to my garden. 🙂

5 Responses to "My potatoes, spring can’t come soon enough."

[…] SNOWDON PHOTOGRAPHY wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptLast fall I decided that instead of just going to the farmers markets I was going to work on growing my own vegetables.  I started collecting seeds, set aside some potatoes to sprout, and bought and planted three different types of garlic. A few weeks ago I was cleaning out the closet where I had set the potatoes in a paper bag to sprout.  I noticed the bag was wet so I pulled out the potatoes.  One had started to rot which was where the moisture came from.  I tossed the rotting one and decided to plant the rest before they started to rot too.  Here are the sprouting potatoes. […]

Oh my goodness, Heather! That was fast. I am keeping my fingers crossed for no more snow 🙂

My grandmother always said never to plant anything (except lettuce and very early spring greens) until the oak leaves were as larger as a mouse’s ear. Don’t get in too big a hurry with your beautiful potatoes!

Ruth Ann

Pardon me! That should say large, not larger! Woops!

Wonderful, what a web site it is! This blog presents useful facts
to us, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

Pages

